Singapore Noodle Stir Fry to excite your taste buds!

Hi Everyone!
I thought I’d get the ball rolling by posting one of my all time favourite dishes- my Singapore Noodle Stir Fry. Not only is this dish delicious and easy to make, but it is also fresh and full of goodness!
Give it a go and let me know what you think!

Singapore Noodle Stir Fry
This dish serves ~4 people!

Ingredients you will need:

  • 1 packet of noodles (~400g packet) – I used Kantong Hokkien wok ready noodles
  • 4 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1 medium red capsicum
  • ~20 snowpeas
  • 2 chicken breast fillets
  • peanut oil
  • 2 handfuls of bean shoots
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 2 tbsp light soy sauce (add more to taste if needed)

First things first, put your kettle on and boil about 1 L of water. Place your noodles in a large bowl and pour this water on top of it- cover with a tea towel while you continue your preparation.

Chop up your chicken breast, followed by spring onions, red capsicum, snow peas (I usually cut them in half). Remember- use a different chopping board to cut up the chicken breast, it sounds like such a simple suggestion but you would be surprised how many people just whip up everything using the one chopping board which is a huge contamination risk and therefore food poisoning risk!!

Next, Heat up your wok and add a few splashes of peanut oil (enough to coat your wok, be generous). I choose to use peanut oil because it has a high smoke point, meaning it heats up to very high temperatures without changing the taste of the food, making it an ideal oil for stir frying!

Add your chicken and cook through, this will take between 5-10 minutes. Add capsicum next, then spring onion. Wait a couple of minutes before adding the snow peas and bean shoots. You will be able to tell quite easily when the dish is ready- it doesn’t take long for all the veggies to cook!

IMG_3632.JPG

Once you’ve added all your veggies, add the teaspoon of curry powder into your wok. Make sure to mix it through the dish. This will give more colour to your dish, as well as a delicious flavour and a lovely aroma!

Now drain your noodles from the boiling water that they have been sitting in. Add them into the chicken and veggie mix in your wok, toss through. Add the soy sauce now. Toss again until all mixed through.

Now its time to serve! Add more soy sauce if you feel the stir fry needs a bit more flavour, but I usually find that the curry powder and soy sauce added whilst the stir fry is in the wok is enough for me.

Time to eat! I love this dish, it takes me about 20 minutes to prepare and cook meaning its super easy! I am definitely no chef, I am not a cooking master as much as I wish I was, so most of my recipes will be easy recipes that can be whipped up by practically anyone with any cooking ability.

Many variations of this dish can be created. For example, I have used ham instead of chicken and have even omitted all meat making it a vegetarian dish, I have added different veggies in the dish and I have used hot curry powder on a number of occasions (although usually I choose to use mild).

The dish incorporates a few of serves of veggies, helping you to reach the ideal goal of 5 veggie serves a day. Plus, any leftovers make a perfect healthy and delicious lunch the next day!

I hope you enjoy!

sign-off-for-blog

One thought on “Singapore Noodle Stir Fry to excite your taste buds!

Leave a Reply

