How I realised I wanted to study Dietetics

I am lucky enough to have found myself a career path that I am so passionate about. I love food, I love science and I love the idea of working in healthcare- so a career as a Dietitian seemed to be the right fit for me.

However, before I realised that Nutrition and Dietetics was my calling, I had no desire whatsoever of following a career path in the field of healthcare. I actually wanted to be a news reader. My mind shifted when I was in year 9. (Warning- there is a bit of a back story…)

I was 14 years old and it was about mid July 2010. I became really sick, to the point where I was admitted to hospital with suspected appendicitis. After some scans, appendicitis was quickly ruled out as the cause of my pain and I was told I had a bowel infection. All of this happened just before my year 9 camp, which was a 2 week hiking camp in Glenmaggie. I was really excited for camp but the Doctor told me it’d be unlikely that I could go, however if I was really keen he said that something could be arranged. So I went. I spent 2 weeks hiking, rock climbing and white water rafting with my school friends having the time of my life, taking my 2 tablets each night for my bowel infection, surprisingly I felt pretty great the whole time!

The week after I came home from year 9 camp we visited the gastroenterologist for a second time. “We have mis-diagnosed you Simone, you have Crohn’s disease.” My initial thoughts were- What the hell?! A disease… young people don’t get diseases. It was a shock for my 14 year old self, but it was Crohn’s that exposed me to the world of Nutrition and Dietetics.

forks and fruit .jpg

I saw a Dietitian not long after my diagnosis, and the whole idea of being able to help people by using food and nutrition was awesome and really interesting in my eyes. So my love and curiosity for this profession continued to grow.

Side note: I ended up having surgery in 2011 as I needed a portion of my ileum removed due to a blockage in my bowel from excessive scar tissue. Since then, I have been quite well with only a few minor complications, which I am very grateful for.

Years 10, 11 and 12 were great years for me at school. I was pretty sure that Nutrition and Dietetics was what I wanted to study at University, which meant I was determined to obtain the Atar score I needed to get into the course. I worked to my absolute maximum in year 12 and it paid off. I got into my first preference, a Bachelor of Nutrition and Dietetics (Honours) at Monash University, and I am so happy and proud of this achievement.

chefs.jpg
Now I am completing my final year of University. The previous three years have been awesome- I really can’t think of another course that would have suited me better than this one. I have put my blood, sweat and tears into my studies. There have been times where I just cannot be bothered, where I daydream about being in Hawaii instead of writing a 4500 word critical analysis essay on the inflammation processes that occur in the body, however I’m only human… and the hard work is paying off!

food with uni friends
I am lucky enough to have found my passion quite young in life. There are so many different aspects of nutrition that I never even knew existed, and the opportunities in the future are growing making it such an exciting profession to be in! For these reasons, I love Dietetics!

I look forward to making my mark in the world of Nutrition and Dietetics next year, and in the years to come. For now, I will work my way through my final year of Uni… less than a year to go!

sign-off-for-blog

2 thoughts on “How I realised I wanted to study Dietetics

Leave a Reply

